WLW Wednesday #2: the theater sapphics (+giveaway)

Jump in, traveler: we’re going to the Sapphic constellation!

I’ve discovered this meme while scrolling through Sasha and Amber’s blog, Sasha and Amber Reads, and I wanted to jump in! This meme is dedicated to sapphic representation in the latest books we read. Sasha and Amber decided to go for a regular publication, but as for me, I will participate in WLW Wednesday occasionally, sharing which sapphic books I read in the previous month(s).

Here’s to my second post in this series! If you missed the first one, you can follow the link below:

I’ve read 2 sapphic books since last time and they both shared a common theme: the theater world! Be it a Shakespeare play or a high school musical, the sapphics have been thriving in those 2 books.

Oh and… you might want to stick around. We might meet Santa on our travel, just saying…

THE LOVE CURSE OF MELODY MCINTYRE
by Robin Talley

Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Nina LaCour, this #ownvoices romantic comedy from New York Times bestselling author Robin Talley has something for everyone: backstage rendezvous, deadly props, and a seemingly insurmountable obstacle to True Love.
Melody McIntyre, stage manager extraordinaire, has a plan for everything.
What she doesn’t have? Success with love. Every time she falls for someone during a school performance, both the romance and the show end in catastrophe. So, Mel swears off any entanglements until their upcoming production of Les Mis is over.
Of course, Mel didn’t count on Odile Rose, rising star in the acting world, auditioning for the spring performance. And she definitely didn’t expect Odile to be sweet and funny, and care as much about the play’s success as Mel.
Which means that Melody McIntyre’s only plan now is trying desperately not to fall in love.

Sapphic rep:

bisexual main character, bisexual love interest, bisexual side character, wlw relationships

My review:

A sapphic theater romance? I was sold before I even opened the book. And happily for me, this book was everything I wished for, and even more!

The whole book is set in a high school theater, and the characters are all theater nerds. I felt like in a little warm bubble, and Robin Talley made a great job to translate exactly what it feels like to be part of a theater company. I love the idea of an ancient curse that jeopardizes shows if someone breaks a rule and all those theater superstitions. I liked how it was introduced, and what Robin Talley made with it.

The romance is really cute, both girls showering the other with support and love from the start. There is no homophobia, no pressure to come out, nor to hide because this is a wlw relationship. Both Melody and Odile are casual about their sexuality.

You’ll like The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre if you love musicals and theater, Hollywood romance, and YA feel-good books.

LOVELESS
by Alice Oseman

The fourth novel from the phenomenally talented Alice Oseman – one of the most authentic and talked-about voices in contemporary YA.
It was all sinking in. I’d never had a crush on anyone. No boys, no girls, not a single person I had ever met. What did that mean?
Georgia has never been in love, never kissed anyone, never even had a crush – but as a fanfic-obsessed romantic she’s sure she’ll find her person one day.
As she starts university with her best friends, Pip and Jason, in a whole new town far from home, Georgia’s ready to find romance, and with her outgoing roommate on her side and a place in the Shakespeare Society, her ‘teenage dream’ is in sight.
But when her romance plan wreaks havoc amongst her friends, Georgia ends up in her own comedy of errors, and she starts to question why love seems so easy for other people but not for her. With new terms thrown at her – asexual, aromantic – Georgia is more uncertain about her feelings than ever.
Is she destined to remain loveless? Or has she been looking for the wrong thing all along?
This wise, warm and witty story of identity and self-acceptance sees Alice Oseman on towering form as Georgia and her friends discover that true love isn’t limited to romance.

Sapphic rep:

lesbian side character, pansexual side character, wlw side relationship

My review:

Loveless isn’t a perfect book, it has been rough by moments, and we can feel that it has been hard for the author to write it. I am not judging the aro-ace representation, as I am not concerned, but sometimes, Georgia was a bit too repetitive on certain aspects. It took time for the plot to unfold, as the main character keeps doing and thinking the same things: she has to kiss someone, she feels weird, and she has to kiss someone, but she feels weird, and (…). I get that she is aro-ace and needs to find herself, but this is a book and the plot is essential. Half the book is the repetition of these events, and it felt a bit too much.

Nonetheless, I felt emotional towards the end as new stakes were introduced and I loved how important and center-staged the friendships were. It was the highlight of this book for me, and I need more YA books centered around friendship love.

Loveless is a nice read, though a bit messy by moments, but if you like friendships-centered stories or if you are searching for aro-ace representation, then you should consider picking it up!

Wait, is this Santa?! Oh wow, it seems he let something behind him…

To celebrate 2020 coming to an end, and to thank you all for your support, I’m hosting a giveaway! You can win a book of your choice up to $15 by entering the form below. However, if I deem the book problematic, I will not buy it.

🚀 PORTAL TO GIVEAWAY 🚀

Giveaway ends on December 24 at 11:59 pm Central European Time. Winner will be randomly picked and announced on Twitter. Open to anywhere Blackwell’s or Book Depository ships. Must agree to share your physical address with me via DM for shipping. Must be over 18 or have a parent/guardian’s permission. Giveaway not sponsored.

Thank you to everyone and I wish you all good luck!

How about you?
What were the latest wlw books you read?


Rejoignez 339 autres abonnés

7 commentaires sur “WLW Wednesday #2: the theater sapphics (+giveaway)

  1. Ahhh thank you for making me discover a new book! 😍😍 The Love Curse sounds exactly like my kind of book, I’ll have to add it to my TBR right away. I’m sorry you were a bit disappointed by Loveless at first. I heard a lot of mixed things about this book and I’m a bit nervous to read it, despite me loving all of Alice’s work. I’m glad there’s a great emphasis on friendship though, we definitely need way more of this!!
    And thank you so much for hosting such a lovely giveaway, this is incredibly sweet of you 😍 I hope you are having a lovely December and end of the year, take care of yourself ❤ ❤

    Aimé par 1 personne

    1. Oh! I hope The Love Curse will live to your expectations! Loveless wasn’t that bad, a bit messy tho, but I certainly read worst than that! 👀
      You’re always so nice, thank you so much 🥰 I wish you a lovely end of the year too!!

      J’aime

Votre commentaire

Entrez vos coordonnées ci-dessous ou cliquez sur une icône pour vous connecter:

Logo WordPress.com

Vous commentez à l’aide de votre compte WordPress.com. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Google

Vous commentez à l’aide de votre compte Google. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Image Twitter

Vous commentez à l’aide de votre compte Twitter. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Facebook

Vous commentez à l’aide de votre compte Facebook. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Connexion à %s