tips to get out of a reading slump

Hop in, traveler, it’s time for another blogging tips journey!

Summer is over, it’s raining, the cold is settling, the world is one huge chaotic mess… and it’s not really helping our moods. Who never experienced a reading slump, especially during those difficult times? I certainly did.

Reading slumps can be really frustrating, especially when the world around you is not helping your mood… So sit back, take a sip of your favorite hot beverage, and read about how you can get out of this evil we readers all fear.

What is a reading slump?

Apart from a cracked spin, a reading slump is a reader’s worst nightmare. But what is it exactly?

I'm glad you asked

A reading slump is simply the inability to pick up a book. Well, not a physical inability, but the reader just can’t read. Whether they’re not in the right mood or are too tired, or because no book seems appealing enough… It usually results in a long period where the reader can’t get themselves to read. It’s a very frustrating feeling, and the frustration is really not helping them to pick up their next book.

I hear you, fellow reader. Reading slumps are the worst, but fear not! I may have the perfect solution for you.

How to get out of one?

That’s the magic question, isn’t it? Stick around a little longer, I’m about to share with you all my tips to get out of a reading slump.

let's f*cking go!

Reread your all-time favorites

This is clearly one of the best pieces of advice I could give you. You feel like nothing is good enough? Well, pick up that book you loved so much last month, it’s time for a re-read!
What’s best than beating that slump than rereading a book that gave you so much joy and comfort (or completely destroyed you, but either way you loved it)? It’s such a nice and warm feeling to go back to a story you loved, and I promise, it’ll help you with your slump. At least, right now, you’re reading! And you can’t get wrong with a favorite.


Pick up a comic/graphic novel/poetry book

It’s what I usually do whenever I’m in a slump: I pick up a short book, that I know will be fast and easy to read. Comic books, graphic novels, and even poetry books are the best for that. Plus, these kinds of books are usually full of magic — I mean, look at those pretty drawings! and those lovely colors! And I don’t know about you, but reading poetry feels so magical. They’ll surely take your mind off what bothers you. I usually finish those books feeling all nice and warm, and motivated again to get back to reading full-length novels.

rapunzel's happy sigh - how i feel after reading a graphic novel

Ask a friend you trust to choose a book for you

A lot of my favorite books came from recommendations from a friend I trust. We have similar taste when it comes to books, and I know I can trust her when she says a book is good (and she’s also more critical than me, so when she says something is great, it is).
You don’t know what to read? Trust a friend! Let them recommend you your next read, they’ll probably get it right. Plus, if it’s something they already read, you can talk about the book with them! You can even do a buddy read together: talking about a book with someone else can help you stay motivated.


Read a book you know you’ll like

You know that book you waited for so desperately? You heard great things about it from early reviewers, and the subject particularly appeals to you. Maybe even it’s the newest book from your favorite author. Either way, you know this book will be a success. Well, it’s time to pick it up! Beat that slump by reading a book you know you’ll give 5 stars.

britney spears' "baby i'm so into you"

Just… wait

A reading slump is actually not that big of a deal. You’re not reading? It’s fine. You don’t have to read all the time. It’ll pass in a matter of time, do not worry. Getting frustrated and feeling guilty are not going to help you. You don’t feel like reading? Okay, it’s cool, enjoy the break! Maybe use that time to catch up on your favorite TV show, or watch a movie, or try that new recipe. Either way, it’s fine! Reading shouldn’t be a mandatory hobby that pressures you. You’re supposed to enjoy it, not torture yourself. Trust yourself, you’ll get back to reading in no time, I promise.

new girl's nick winking "do your thing, girl"

Have you ever been in a reading slump?
How did you get out of it?


Rejoignez les 336 autres abonnés

11 commentaires sur “tips to get out of a reading slump

  1. Great advice! Reading slumps are indeed the worst and you’ve come up with some very useful tips to tackle them! I usually wait them out by indulging my other hobbies, but rereading a favourite is also a great way to get back into the reading mood. My go-to book to reread when I don’t feel like picking up a new book is Pride and Prejudice; it never fails to reignite my love for reading.

    Aimé par 2 personnes

Laisser un commentaire