rec list based on random songs i listened

It was Jamishelves and her rec list based on random Wikipedia entries that gave me the idea for this post. Like, you can rec books based on almost everything, and that’s the fun of it!

I wanted to try that kind of post too, and why not do it based on songs that are on my Spotify ‘on-repeat‘ playlist? Just like Jamieson and her random Wikipedia articles, I clicked on « Shuffle Play » five times and recommend you five books those songs remind me of.

pourquoi la mort te fait peur

pourquoi la mort te fait peur? / j’entends les sauts de ton cœur / à travers les océans / tu sais que toi et moi / elle ne nous aura pas / on ira sous l’océan / au creux d’un saule pleureur / je t’éviterai les douleurs / et nos corps fleuriront en larmes

This is a French song by artist Pomme about two people cheating death. How about cheating time’s rules too? THIS IS HOW YOU LOSE THE TIME WAR by Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone is about two women fighting against each other in the Time war, and falling in love with each other missions after missions. Plus, the authors’ poetry-like style matches perfectly with the delicate poetry of Pomme’s songs.

Comeback

I don’t know what I’m feelin’, but I believe / I was thinkin’ ’bout makin’ a comeback / Back to me

Carly Rae Jepsen sings here a return to her authentic self and healthy relationship rights. What better than LAURA DEAN KEEPS BREAKING UP WITH ME by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell to match this song?? Freddy is a young girl reaching out to an advice columnist about her on-and-off relationship with the popular, beautiful, and rude Laura Dean. Thanks to new friends and a local mystic, she’ll find the strength to ditch this toxic relationship for new, healthier ones.

Ease My Mind

Darling, only you can ease my mind / Help me leave these lonely thoughts behind / When they pull me under, and I can feel my sanity start to unwind / Darling, only you can ease my mind

I mean, I would have been shocked if Ben Platt wasn’t in this post — I listen to his songs so often it would have been a real surprise… So to match one of my fav singers, what better than one of my fav books? THE PRIORY OF THE ORANGE TREE by Samantha Shannon is a heavy fantasy retelling of the legend of Saint-George and the Dragon, featuring a sapphic romance — and Ead and Sabran are why I associated this book with this song. Sabran is the queen of the biggest realm, and let’s just say that with great responsibilities come great fears. Hopefully for her, she has Ead by her side.

Wandering Aengus

Walking in my mourning in the morning / Let me tell you of the ashes in the great / Sun is raised for dawning, let the dawn in / Let me lift my heart and free my song from pain

Okay, this is a hard one. Johnny Flynn did not come easy on me. But his song gives me major cottage core vibes, so for that, I’d recommend THE LOST ESTATE by Henri Alain-Fournier, a French book I read in class and which I loved. This is about two young boys finding an enchanted manor in the woods, in which wonderful and timeless parties are thrown, and which will forever change their lives.

Cherry Wine

But I want it, it’s a crime / That she’s not around most of the time / The way she tells me I’m hers and she is mine

Hum, hello?? Doesn’t it feel like Jasmine Thompson is singing as Celia St James? Cause I soon I heard her words, I was thinking about THE SEVEN HUSBANDS OF EVELYN HUGO. The story of this marvelous book is about Evelyn Hugo coming clean on her frivolous life in an exclusive interview. The Monroe-like actress is ready to come out to the world and confess her love for her former co-star Celia St James.

Okay, so it wasn’t as hard as I expected?? And it’s really fun to do! I’m quite happy with the matches I made in fact and I think, maybe, I’ll do a second part later.

What do you think?
Which books would you have matched with those songs?


Rejoignez les 336 autres abonnés

4 commentaires sur “rec list based on random songs i listened

  1. very interesting! song recommendations to go along with certain books. I actually finished a recent book and had a song instantly come to mind that can be fitting for the story. Madeleine Wickham’s The Gatecrasher reminded me of Kanye West’s Gold Digger song.

    J’aime

Laisser un commentaire